Railway Enquiry Service

PNR Status Enquiry

PNR Status Online

The PNR stands for Passenger Name Record when referring to PNR Status Enquiry. It should not be confused with Passenger Number Record, also referred to as "PNR", which is a number that passengers are allotted to enable them to check on their reservation status online.

However, PNR status may include booking status with information on whether the ticket is confirmed or on the waiting list (WL).

Also, the status can indicate if the ticket is under the reservation against the cancellation (RAC) as well as providing crucial information regarding the time of arrival and departure for the trains.

In addition, the PNR status also contains details mostly of the seat number, the coach and the train boarding fee paid by the passenger.

By providing 10 digit PNR Number, users can only view passengers list and train details associated to provided PNR number. Users cannot see any results if provided PNR number is Invalid or Flushed.


  • 10 digit PNR Number. (Note: Shows error if Invalid/Flushed PNR)
  • Click on "Get PNR Status"

PNR Status codes

General Waiting List (GNWL) Wait Listed Tickets are issued when the passenger starts journey at the originating station of a route or stations close to the originating station. GNWL is the most common type of waiting list and has got the highest chances of confirmation.
CAN means your ticket has been cancelled and the passenger cannot travel with the ticket having status as CAN/MOD.
CNF stands for confirmed Ticket. Now the passenger can travel with CNF ticket. The seat/berth number will be allocated after charting done.
CK means Tatkal booking. Passenger can book a tatkal ticket one day in advance. No refund will be made on the cancellation of confirmed Tatkal Tickets. Tatkal booking opens at 10 AM for AC Classes and 11 AM for NON-AC Classes.
Also called TQWL, Any ticket booked under Tatkal Quota and was in Waiting List falls under CKWL quota. At the time of chart preparation GNWL is given priority than CKWL. Therefore, Ticket booked under CKWL has less chances of confirmation.
WL status means you are on the waiting list. If e-Ticket status remains WL after final chart preparation then the tickect becomes Invalid and the ticket fare will be refunded.
A Pooled Quota Waiting List (PQWL) is shared by several small stations. If the passenger start from source station of the train but passenger destination is before the train destination. The chances of ticket getting confirmed is very less.
If the booking status shows REGRET/WL which means no more bookings are allowed for that train.
Remote Location Waiting List (RLWL) Confirmation depends on the cancellation of the confirmed ticket whose destination is same as the RLWL destination. Therefore there are less chances of confirmation. On the other hand, There is highest chances of confirmation if the passenger's source and destination is same as source and destination of train as there will be more number of cancellations.
Remote Location General Waiting List (RLGN) is issued when a user books a rail ticket where waiting list quota is Remote Location Waiting List. Once the quota for a station is filled the ticket will be issued under RLGN quota. This ticket gets confirmed only if someone from that station cancels otherwise the passenger need to wait till the chart prepared.
Roadside Station Waiting List (RSWL) is a status where the passenger's source station is same as the train source station but the destination is different. The chances of ticket under RSWL status getting confirmed is very less.
Request Waiting List is when the ticket is booked from an intermediate station to an intermediate station and when the ticket is not covered in any of the quotas then it falls under RQWL status.

How to Check Your PNR Status online?

You don't have to worry about checking your PNR status. It is just simple; you need to enter the PNR number allotted to you on the search bar at www.getpnr.com/pnr-status.

Once you have entered your number, the PNR status on your ticket will appear.

Even though you will expect your PNR number to be on the top-left corner of your train ticket, the number on the e-ticket will appear on the top half of the printed page.

How Does The PNR Work?

The Indian Railway Enquiry system runs a database where all the necessary information regarding passengers is stored. To get the PNR status, the system generates a 10-digit PNR Number when the passenger makes the booking online.

On the other hand, a single PNR number can cater for a maximum of six passengers in case of group bookings.

PNR Status on Mobile SMS

Now you can get your PNR Status information on mobile over SMS.

To get PNR Enquiry on SMS:
Send "PNR <10-digit PNR Number>" to 139
For example: PNR 1234567890

Are there any other ways to find PNR Status?

Although There are many websites other than our GetPNR.com or indianrail.gov.in to get PNR Status information. Still you can find your ticket status with following other options.
  • Mobile SMS to 139.
  • Smartphone applications available on google playstore or Apple appstore.
  • Enquiry counters available at any station.
  • Charts attached in origin station walls.
  • PNR Status enquiry applications made in some voice assistances like Amazon Alexa or Google Now.

Do you know about VIKALP?

The Alternate Train Accommodation Scheme (ATAS) is started under the name “Vikalp”.
  • Under VIKALP scheme waiting list passenger can opt max 5 trains.
  • VIKALP scheme will not gurantee for the confirmed seat in the alternate train. It is subjected to availability.
  • The boarding and terminating stations may change to nearby stations.
  • The passenger can opt the alternate train departing between 30 minutes to 12 Hours from the scheduled departure of original train.
  • Passenger should also check PNR status after preparation of chart(s) of the alternate train(s) for final status.
  • VIKALP scheme once opted cannot be changed/cancelled.
Loading Indian Railways News Feed...
Please show soft copy of your ticket and Save Trees!. Disclaimer:www.GetPNR.com is neither directly nor indirectly affliated to any official Railway websites. The content provided in www.GetPNR.com is only to help people. In case of any loss, damage or any other consequences from www.GetPNR.com or anyone associated are not responsible. Before taking any further steps based on the information provided by www.GetPNR.com, please contact Inidan Railways Official website.